Questions
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Php 301 redirect
Hi, Not meta tags. If no other way, You should do it with PHP header() function. <code>header("HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently"); header("Location: /somelocation");</code> But you need to add some conditions to determine if the page should be redirected. For example to redirect /example.html to https://www.new-domain.com/example you need to write something like: if (isset($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']) && parse_url($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'], PHP_URL_PATH) == '/example.html') {header('HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently');header('Location: https://www.new-domain.com/example');exit();} It can be a lot of code, if you need to redirect many pages. In this case, You can try to use PHP 301 Redirect Generator - https://www.301-redirect.online/php-header-location-generator
Intermediate & Advanced SEO | | IOHanna0 -
301 redirect from sites closing down
Hi, If possible, you can definitely 301 redirect these domains. There does not need to be active websites on the domains to do this - a redirect will tell Google that the site's content has moved to the new location, and to assign the majority of the authority from the old site / domain to the new location. It would be beneficial if you were putting something relevant to the supplementary sites' content on the new / hub site so that it's truly a case of content having moved - Google will often dull the benefit of a 301 if there is no sign that real content has moved from one location to another. This is partially to stop people from buying expired domains and redirecting them for the SEO benefit alone. If you're unable to do this however, it's still a good move to redirect the closed sites so that any SEO benefit and any type-in traffic is directed to the best location. Redirection also means that the closed sites will drop out of Google's index quickly and any relevant rankings they had that could belong to the existing site should change to the existing site quickly as well.
Technical SEO Issues | | JaneCopland0 -
Increasing likes on Facebook - Strategies
Hi Ocelot Wow they have a few Facebook fans don't they!! I agree how many of these will actually be customers though ?? The customer social recommendation is a great idea to explore but how knowing us Brits they hard part will be getting them to actually do this!! Customers are very quick to head to social media when they have a complaint but not as quick to praise!! I guess the best strategy would be to "Just Ask" I have found happy customers in the past to be quite accommodating I am sure there could be ways to help incentivise these social recommendations but you may be heading down a slightly grey area. Kind Regards James
Social Media | | BlueNinja0 -
Tool like Followerwonk for Facebook?
Hi ocelot, There is a tool called Klout which may be what you are looking for. Available as a Chrome or Firefox extension or a stand-alone site, Klout uses data from Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to determine your overall social media influence. Statistics covered include amplification probability (how likely your message will be retweeted or replied to), the size of your network and your true reach. “True reach” takes into account the amount of interaction received per post. You may not be able to find the absolute most influential Facebook users at there, but you will at least be able to better quantify your own influence.
Social Media | | SEO5Team0 -
Local SEO Best Practice
Hi Ocelet, Miriam provided you with some excellent advice. Did it answer your questions?
Vertical SEO: Video, Image, Local | | Christy-Correll0 -
New Site maintaining rank on old URL's
Thanks is there a way of doing a 301 of something similar inline on the page code? For example if the old page is called product.html and the new page is called newproduct.html what could I add onto the product.html page to provide the redirect. I dont have access and dont really want to mess about in apache
Technical SEO Issues | | ocelot0 -
SEO and PR
So, here's a few ideas, focused on press opportunities specifically, but with some other link ideas tossed in as well. 1 - HARO We've had a lot of success with HARO for clients. They won't have many opportunities specifically for window improvements, so you'll have to think broader - general construction, green/energy improvements, and general business ownership queries are all going to be relevant, especially if the business owner is fairly personable and willing to get involved. For our clients, we monitor the requests and forward the ones we feel are a good fit. If the client is willing to read 3 emails a day, they'll see a number of responses on their own that might be good as well. 2 - Case Studies This is a longer term project. Have the contractor ask their clients for energy bills a year before and the year after a project. You might have to incentivize this somehow to get participation. It's tricky to draw too many conclusions, but year-over-year energy savings on average across a wide range of clients would make a good study. There's a number of variables that might be hard to account for - weather and personal energy use being the primary ones - so there might be some kinks to work out in this concept, but I think those could be mitigated somehow. Anyways, in regards to PR, a study like this could produce at least a handful of links, particularly from energy conservation and window-industry publications. Might not be a ton of results, but enough relevant industry publications could be a major boost for a contractor in a boring niche. 3 - Events I've seen some other "boring" companies that put on local events with a charitable focus and managed to get a decent handful of links, including a few news organizations. At the risk of tooting my own horn, there's quite a few opportunities out there to build links with local events, and it's a very natural topic to get covered by local press if the event is interesting enough. 4 - Image Marketing with Conservatories, Window Boxes, etc. While I'm sure many of their projects are pretty straightforward, I'm sure they also have some more elaborate designs and projects. Conservatories and bey windows are great examples of really attractive projects that people like to look at. Even if they're not the business's primary focus, you've got plenty of opportunities for visual marketing on social networks like Houzz, Pinterest, Facebook, and Flickr. It's a long shot that these will generate press, but they can certainly generate links and traffic, especially if you've got a really nice gallery/portfolio on the client's website. Hope that gets you started!
Link Building | | KaneJamison0 -
Increasing Google Ad spend - is it worth it
Matthew, Joram & Branden have all provided really great answers, and it looks like you're on the right track. Have you connected your analytics account with your adwords account? Here's how if you haven't yet. I know there's been some redesigning going on insight Analytics, but it should still be the majority of the same information. Might take a bit of trial & error though. IF you've already set up GA & AW then you should be able to see AdWords conversions filtering into your current goals. Go to the Conversions section, then go to Overview. In the refreshed screen, select by Source / Medium. This will give you a decent idea of how AdWords has been helping. Generally, I would say that if you don't know how AdWords has been contributing to your bottom line, then I wouldn't increase budget. Are you managing all online marketing for your company?
Paid Search Marketing | | JasmineA0 -
Google places - We currently do not support the location
That is a "common" issue unfortunately. Vanessa (Google's Community Manager) responds with this - "You may be seeing this message on your listing for a couple reasons. Have you just recently verified your listing? Note that it may take up to 2 weeks from the time you've verified that listing to appear on Google Maps, and during that time your Active listing will say “We currently do not support this location” on it. Please just sit tight. 2) Has your listing been verified and live for some time? Search for it on maps.google.com ("business name, city/phone"). Sometimes the links from your Places dashboard aren't synced properly, so you should always search on Maps first to make sure it is indeed removed . Often it's still live and there, you just need to look it up via maps.google.com.3) If you’ve done a search on maps.google.com and still don't see it, go to your Places dashboard (google.com/places) and “poke” the listing by clicking Edit > Submit. Give it a couple days, and then again, go to maps.google.com to see if you see it appear live. 4) If none of that helps, then your listing has been removed from Google Maps. If you believe your listing should not have been removed, get in touch with our support team:Link to contact form: http://support.google.com/places/bin/static.py?hl=en&ts=1386120&page=ts.csSelect: My listing no longer appears on Google Maps or is incorrectly marked as closed. > Fill out the short form, hit Submit, and await an e-mail from a member of our support team (it may take a few days). - Vanessa_Edited June 14 to reflect troubleshooter updates. - Jade_Update -- We're currently experiencing an issue displaying some pages, affecting service area businesses in particular. My recommendation is that you make absolutely certain that you follow the quality guidelines, and then work through #4 above. You'll get an email back from the support team that asks you to wait if we think your listing is affected." Hope this helps. Mike
Vertical SEO: Video, Image, Local | | Mike.Goracke0 -
Lead generation advice - UK market
What is the market you are in, I am in car finance so I may be able to point you in the right direction
Conversion Rate Optimization | | ske110 -
Advanced Twitter Searching - Is this possible?
Hi Tom That's great thanks for the reply Are there any other tools that would give me social insights into local niche trends in Twitter? to target users who are actively discussing certain topics
Branding / Brand Awareness | | ocelot0 -
CPC of a search phrase
There's no bullet proof hard and fast way to do this, but this is how I approach this problem. I use Google's Keyword tool to give me a base "ballpark" CPC. Then, I calculate what my average profit will be from an average conversion. For example, say my profit from a $100 sale is $50. Say, for example I'm going to count on a 2% conversion rate for my ad, and Google says the average CPC for my term is $2.00. This means that for every $200 in my ad spend (100 clicks) I should get 2 conversions. That would mean I am only breaking even, not really making any profit on the sale at all. That being the case, the only way to be profitable in this case would be to improve my conversion rate significantly and also work to lower my cost per click, perhaps by improving my ad's quality score. You need to determine what your profit goals are from the campaign because this is going to greatly influence your target CPC. If you are using the ad as a customer acquisition tool, it might not be so bad to take a loss on the transaction if you gain a customer for life. One other place to compare CPC costs is in SEMRush. This can give you a ballpark idea of what competitors are paying per click, but as with Google, these are averages based across broad data sets that you can't see, so you really need to take them with a grain of salt. Start with your ballpark figure and your sales goals in hand and tweak the ad and bids until you hit your target. In my experience, this can take as little as a week and as much as 3 months, so you need to have patience. All new campaigns, by sheer virtue that they have no history are going to cost you more money at first. Once your quality score improves and stabilizes, your costs should come down. I hope this helps! Dana
Affiliate Marketing | | danatanseo0 -
Redirect old URL's from referring sites?
Hi Yes I think so, but is there a way to check/run a test? UPDATE - Yes it is enabled its on Dreamhost
Technical SEO Issues | | ocelot0 -
Google Places to Google+ Places - Strange Problem!
Hi Ocelot, Robert has done an exceptional job of pointing out some of the data confusion going on with your business. However, we can only do so much from the public side of things. I would recommend that you start a thread at the Google And Your Business Forum and completely describe all of your conflicting data in hopes of getting a response from a Google Rep or Top Contributor. It sounds to me like you may have hidden duplicates going on that have merged with your + page, but that's just a shot in the dark. Here is the link to the forum: http://groups.google.com/a/googleproductforums.com/forum/#!forum/business You have some big work ahead of you getting this untangled. Don't delete anything right now. See if you can get some Google-based guidance first, and be prepared to show them everything.
Vertical SEO: Video, Image, Local | | MiriamEllis0 -
Facebook pages invites via email
I think the far better answer is to simply include a link to the Facebook page in the newsletter and invite people to like the page from there. Believe it or not, there are some people who are not on Facebook, so getting an email inviting them to like the page would be worthless. I think the minimal likes you'd get out of it is not worth the risk of being viewed as a spammer.
Social Media | | NewWard0 -
Facebook comments plugin moderation
I'm certainly not an expert, and I'm not sure this will help, but... ...if you're formatting it with the brackets as in the example above, the tag may not authenticate properly. Try removing the brackets, like so:
Social Media | | Cyrus-Shepard0 -
Google+1 on site or on google+ for SEO?
Sounds like a solid plan. Keep your +1 buttons visible, use your Google+ account to engage with others, and keep growing your visibility over time.
Social Media | | Cyrus-Shepard0 -
Backlinks on an older domain which is now 301
Have you got your old domain setup in Google Webmaster Tools, if so have you had a look at links there and do they still show? I have to be honest when I have created 301 redirects I have never gone back checking what links still point to the old domain as I plan on keeping the domain and redirect in place permanently anyway. You might want to try running your redirected old URL through http://www.majesticseo.com to see what sort of insight this gives you in relation to backlinks... I have just done that with majesticseo and I can all the links pointing to the redirected URL so this should solve your problem
Link Building | | Matt-Williamson0 -
Not ranking on Bing but is on Google?
Have a look at this - it might give you some ideas in regard to Bing and optimisation - http://www.bing.com/community/site_blogs/b/uk/archive/2012/04/13/optimising-website-content-for-higher-rankings-on-bing.aspx
Intermediate & Advanced SEO | | Matt-Williamson0 -
New Site Checklist - Links and Social Aspects
Anybody know what SEO agencies are doing the work for the following sites weatherseal .co.uk anglianhome .co.uk www.doubleglazingoutlet.co.uk and what do you think of their backlink profiles? For example I am sure weatherseal is starting to rank well dur o their sponsorship of the Scottish Premier League this season and getting links from the league and all of the member clubs How can you compete with these sorts of companies online with their massive marketing budgets?
Link Building | | ocelot0