The Moz Q&A Forum

    • Forum
    • Questions
    • My Q&A
    • Users
    • Ask the Community

    Welcome to the Q&A Forum

    Browse the forum for helpful insights and fresh discussions about all things SEO.

    1. SEO and Digital Marketing Q&A Forum
    2. Categories
    3. Paid Search Marketing
    4. Starting Out With PPC, Need Some Advice

    Starting Out With PPC, Need Some Advice

    Paid Search Marketing
    9 5 766
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as question
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • inhouseseo
      inhouseseo last edited by

      We are starting out with PPC for our site. I wanted to know what the best starting point is for our site. First, some basic info:

      • We sell thousands of products from a large number of manufacturers

      • We can offer the same prices as competitors, but we can't beat their prices

      Here are my questions:

      1. What would be my USP if my prices are the same, and we have the same store policies as competitors?

      2. Is it best to start with product pages (as opposed to keywords)? Meaning, setting up a feed via MC and connecting to our adwords account.

      Any advice is appreciated 🙂

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • tomcraig86
        tomcraig86 last edited by

        Based on what you are saying, I'd suggest getting an Agency to set this campaign up for you, as it will take a lot of time. Getting the feed in of your products will help a lot, but there will be a large number of ads you'd want to run alongside your individual products to your category pages etc.

        SEOMoz probably isn't the best place to ask about PPC, so I'd recommend asking some more questions on a PPC forum.

        You'd be best to lead with a USP - perhaps free delivery, next day delivery, local call centers, live chat, freephone numbers, etc.

        DanielFreedman 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • DanielFreedman
          DanielFreedman @tomcraig86 last edited by

          The problem with agencies -- at least the good ones -- is that they have little interest in small accounts. Commissions of $1,000 to $1,500 per month are often required to attract their attention. That implies an ad spend of $100,000 to $150,000 per annum.

          You might try to educate yourself by joining the Google Engage program and taking other education steps. But this will most likely take weeks or months and you will waste hundreds or thousands of dollars along the way. And beware: the advice you get from Google is not only self-serving, but surprisingly ignorant about PPC basics.

          I describe myself as a "web strategist" and PPC is only about 10% of what I do. I use PPC for only a few of my clients; a purely organic approach  works best for most.

          It's impossible to say more without knowing more about your client's competitive position. But I agree with emphasizing the USP, if prices are the same as competitors.

          I've had success with ad copy that talked about:

          • family-run business
          • guaranteed
          • personal service
          • made in USA by licensed ________
          • Save 12% in big summer sale

          These lead directly to landing pages that repeat the keywords and and ad text phrases.

          Too many people confuse PPC with a roulette wheel: if only you get lucky on a magic phrase you will win big. Unfortunately, it's a lot more complicated.

          PPC is hard.

          You have to come up with ad groups containing tightly related groups of keywords. You have to test ad copy over time. You have to refine keyword, dropping some and breaking others into new ad groups. And you have to develop the capacity to easily create new landing pages.

          inhouseseo DanielFreedman tomcraig86 4 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • inhouseseo
            inhouseseo @DanielFreedman last edited by

            I have talked to a few reputable PPC companies. Many of them want what amounts to 30% of your PPC spend if you are on a small budget (around $1,500/mo), PLUS a setup fee of a few hundred dollars.

            I talked to one that suggested starting with products and moving to other categories/section - a narrow to broad approach. This seems like the best way to go if you are starting.

            The others want similar startup/monthly fees, but they will do the keyword research, ad group creation, etc.

            It seems to me the best way to go is either create my own feed via MC and connect to my adwords account, or pay an exorbitant amount to a very reputable PPC company and hope their expertise will bring in revenue. I am leaning towards the product feed.

            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • inhouseseo
              inhouseseo @DanielFreedman last edited by

              BTW, have you ever heard of PPC companies managing campaigns in return for a percentage of sales generated via PPC?

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • DanielFreedman
                DanielFreedman @DanielFreedman last edited by

                No, I haven't heard of reputable PPC companies accepting of percentage of sales in lieu of a flat fee or percentage of the spend.

                Why would they?

                Because they're nice guys who want to mitigate their clients' risk? Um...no.

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • tomcraig86
                  tomcraig86 @DanielFreedman last edited by

                  Generally in the UK the industry average is 12% of monthly Adwords spend.

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • DavidKonigsberg
                    DavidKonigsberg last edited by

                    We do ppc and Let me just warn you if you are a drop shipper and can't do better pricing then your competitors and have no real advantage over the competitors it is very hard to make alot of money with ppc especially if you have small margins. I would try to find a ppc company that has experience with your situation and it would be worth every penny.

                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • flowsimple
                      flowsimple last edited by

                      I agree with David, find a reputable and experienced PPC company that is experienced with your situation, and pay for their expertise. Even if you are spending $1,500 per month on their services. Chances are they will also do MUCH MUCH better than you would in terms of your bottom line.

                      Let's just ignore the time savings from hiring out a good PPC company and focus on your return. Then it just comes down to a number game, and that should help you decide on how much you can invest on hiring a PPC company. Here's an example:

                      Let's say your budget is $4K a month on non-brand campaigns, and you're averaging 40 conversions, so your CPA is $100. If the PPC company does 100% better, you're getting 80 conversions for $5.5K a month ($4K + 1.5K service), and now your CPA is about $67. So what's better? You managing $4K and getting 40 conversions, or spending $5.5K and getting 80? And we haven't even factored in the possibility of an increase in average revenue per conversion yet! If the company can increase that too, well then... you get the picture.

                      Now, let's just focus on just the TIME savings, and let's say you can't go above $4K in total. So the PPC company eats $1.5K, and the rest goes towards your spend. Then the PPC company would only need to do 38% better to achieve the same results and number of conversions.

                      Hope all that made sense.

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • 1 / 1
                      • First post
                        Last post
                      • What to do against competitor PPC sabotage?
                        JasmineA
                        JasmineA
                        0
                        5
                        633

                      • PPC for a music shop - advice
                        JasmineA
                        JasmineA
                        0
                        4
                        192

                      • PPC question for the experts
                        Branden_S
                        Branden_S
                        0
                        7
                        353

                      • How do you assess PPC ROI?
                        john4math
                        john4math
                        0
                        10
                        605

                      • Keyword Domains for PPC
                        Cyrus-Shepard
                        Cyrus-Shepard
                        0
                        4
                        808

                      • Recommend a PPC book
                        RikkiD22
                        RikkiD22
                        0
                        3
                        1.4k

                      • PPC Keyword Ranking
                        mccormackmorrison
                        mccormackmorrison
                        0
                        7
                        784

                      • Tagging Bing PPC
                        QuickLearnTraining
                        QuickLearnTraining
                        0
                        4
                        679

                      Get started with Moz Pro!

                      Unlock the power of advanced SEO tools and data-driven insights.

                      Start my free trial
                      Products
                      • Moz Pro
                      • Moz Local
                      • Moz API
                      • Moz Data
                      • STAT
                      • Product Updates
                      Moz Solutions
                      • SMB Solutions
                      • Agency Solutions
                      • Enterprise Solutions
                      • Digital Marketers
                      Free SEO Tools
                      • Domain Authority Checker
                      • Link Explorer
                      • Keyword Explorer
                      • Competitive Research
                      • Brand Authority Checker
                      • Local Citation Checker
                      • MozBar Extension
                      • MozCast
                      Resources
                      • Blog
                      • SEO Learning Center
                      • Help Hub
                      • Beginner's Guide to SEO
                      • How-to Guides
                      • Moz Academy
                      • API Docs
                      About Moz
                      • About
                      • Team
                      • Careers
                      • Contact
                      Why Moz
                      • Case Studies
                      • Testimonials
                      Get Involved
                      • Become an Affiliate
                      • MozCon
                      • Webinars
                      • Practical Marketer Series
                      • MozPod
                      Connect with us

                      Contact the Help team

                      Join our newsletter
                      Moz logo
                      © 2021 - 2026 SEOMoz, Inc., a Ziff Davis company. All rights reserved. Moz is a registered trademark of SEOMoz, Inc.
                      • Accessibility
                      • Terms of Use
                      • Privacy